Call for papers

13th International Conference on
Algebraic Methodology And Software Technology
AMAST 2010

Québec City, Canada, 23-25 June 2010

Colocated with MPC 2010 (21-23 June 2010)

*** New deadlines ***

(Due to circumstances beyond our control, the previous Call for Papers, with earlier deadlines, has not been circulated, but only posted on the web. In order to be able to circulate this Call, we postponed the deadlines. As a consequence, the publication date of the proceedings, which are planned in the same format, has been moved to after the conference.)


The major goal of the AMAST Conferences is to promote research that may lead to the setting of software technology on a firm, mathematical basis. This goal is achieved by a large international cooperation with contributions from both academia and industry. The virtues of a software technology developed on a mathematical basis include the provision of software that is

  1. correct, and the correctness can be proved mathematically,
  2. safe, so that it can be used in the implementation of critical systems,
  3. portable, i.e., independent of computing platforms and language generations,
  4. evolutionary, i.e., it can be self-adaptable and evolves with the problem domain,
  5. secure, so that its network and user interactions can be predicted and controlled.

All previous editions of the AMAST Conference, which were held at Iowa City (1989,1991), Twente (1993), Montreal (1995), Munich (1996), Sydney (1997), Manaus (1999), Iowa City (2000), Reunion Island (2002), Stirling (2004), Saaremaa (2006) and Urbana-Champaign (2008), made contributions to the AMAST goals by reporting and disseminating academic and industrial achievements within the AMAST area of interest. During these meetings, AMAST attracted an international following among researchers and practitioners interested in software technology, programming methodology and their algebraic and logical foundations.

The 2010 conference will be held in Lac-Beauport, a suburb of Québec City, Canada, and will be colocated with MPC '10 (21-23 June 2010).


As in previous years, we invite papers reporting original research on setting software technology on a firm mathematical basis. We expect two kinds of submissions: technical papers and system demonstrations. Of particular interest is research on using algebraic, logic, and other formalisms suitable as foundations for software technology, as well as software technologies developed by means of logic and algebraic methodologies. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Software technology
    • systems software technology
    • application software technology
    • software architecture
    • concurrent and reactive systems
    • formal methods in industrial software development
    • requirements engineering
    • software synthesis
    • evolutionary and adaptive software systems
  • Programming methodology
    • logic programming, functional programming, object paradigms
    • constraint programming and concurrency
    • program transformation and verification
    • programming calculi
    • specification languages and tools
    • incremental development
    • web programming and network computation
  • Algebraic and logical foundations
    • logic in computer science
    • category theory, relation algebra, computational algebra
    • algebraic foundations for languages, systems and specifications
    • coinduction and coalgebraic methods
    • logical frameworks and theorem proving
    • logics of programs
    • formal approaches to dependability and security
  • Systems and tools (for system demonstrations or ordinary papers)
    • software development environments
    • provably correct software development
    • validation and verification
    • security tools
    • system support for reuse
    • tools for prototyping
    • component based software development tools
    • computer algebra systems
    • theorem proving systems

As in the past, the proceedings of AMAST 2010 will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. The preliminary version of the proceedings will be available at the conference. The final version will be distributed after the conference.

We invite prospective authors to submit electronically previously unpublished papers of high quality. Submissions should not have been published and should not be under consideration for publication elsewhere. Papers must be no longer than 15 pages (6 pages for system demonstrations) and should be prepared using LaTeX and the LNCS style that can be downloaded from

The submission site and dates are at the beginning of this Call.


The conference will be held in the Manoir St-Castin ( This resort is located on the shore of Beauport lake, 15 minutes from downtown Québec City ( and 15 minutes from the Jean-Lesage International Airport.

Programme Committee
Paolo Baldan University of Padova, Italia
Gilles Barthe IMDEA-Software, Spain
Michel Bidoit INRIA Saclay - Île-de-France, France
Manfred Broy Technische Universität München, Germany
Roberto Bruni University of Pisa, Italia
Iliano Cervesato CMU - Qatar Campus, Qatar
Adriana Compagnoni Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
Erik de Vink Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, The Netherlands
José Luiz Fiadeiro University of Leicester, UK
Kokichi Futatsugi JAIST, Japan
Rob Goldblatt Victoria University, New Zealand
Ichiro Hasuo Kyoto University, Japan
Rolf Hennicker Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany
Michael Johnson Macquarie University, Australia (co-chair)
Hélène Kirchner INRIA Bordeaux, France
Barbara König Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Narciso Martí Oliet Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Michael Mislove Tulane University, USA
Larry Moss Indiana University, USA
Till Mossakowski DFKI Bremen, Germany
Peter D. Mosses Swansea University, UK
Andrzej Murawski University of Oxford, UK
Uwe Nestmann TU Berlin, Germany
Fernando Orejas Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
Dusko Pavlovic Kestrel Institute, USA, and University of Oxford, UK (co-chair)
Leila Ribeiro Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Grigore Rosu University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Jan Rutten CWI and Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Lutz Schröder DFKI Bremen, Germany
Wolfram Schulte Microsoft Research, USA
Douglas Smith Kestrel Institute, USA
Carolyn Talcott SRI International, USA
Andrzej Tarlecki Warsaw University, Poland
Varmo Vene University of Tartu, Estonia
James Worrell University of Oxford, UK



For further information, consult the webiste or send email to Michael Johnson at or Dusko Pavlovic at